I was thriving at my new university. I attended all my classes with an eagerness to learn, as I knew that even though I had suffered, I was finally in the right place.

Six months ago, the academic system drove me into a state of lethargy known as chronic fatigue. Most days, I awoke with a runny nose, a heavy headache and a lack of interest in learning.

The old, prestigious school lacked personality. Students aimlessly wandered around campus pretending not to notice one another. There was a focus on independent work, so I was socially isolated. While most students dreaded group assignments, I realised what a difference they would have made.

I smiled at my new student ID, which read Georgia R, RMIT student. I was one of thousands enrolled in the system – I was part of academic life.

This was it.

